Desert Island Discs

Desert Island Discs.pngDesert Island Disc’s is a long running radio broadcast (currently broadcast on BBC Radio 4) where, in the BBC’s own words, “a guest is invited to choose the eight records they would take with them to a desert island”, guests are also permitted one book and one luxury item.

The One Book

This is probably more difficult than narrowing down all my favourite songs into a playlist of eight, but I would probably go for Boomsday by Christopher Buckley

Boomsday-cover.jpg

From The Blurb “Cassandra Devine, a charismatic 29-year-old blogger and member of Generation Whatever, is outraged over the excesses of the Baby Boomer generation and their negligent handling of the mounting Social Security debt. When she politely suggests that Baby Boomers be given government incentives to kill themselves by the age of seventy-five, it catches the imagination of millions of outraged citizens, including an ambitious senator who sees this as his ticket to becoming President. With the help of Washington’s greatest spin doctor, the blogger and the politician try to ride the issue of euthanasia for Boomers all the way to the White House, over the objections of the Religious Right and, of course, the Boomers themselves, who are deeply offended by demonstrations on the golf courses of their retirement resorts.”

The One Luxury Item 

images.jpg

Coca-Cola, I can’t go a day without consuming at least 3 pints of Coca-Cola, I don’t like tea or coffee, and energy drinks are a one way ticket to the morgue. So Coca-Cola has become my source of caffeine to make the day tolerable.

The Eight Songs

Sammy Davis Jr- What Kind Fool Am I? 

This song reminds me of when I first moved out on my own (a shared house while at uni) and its when I first really began to feel like myself, I was a suit wearing, cigar chaining, wine guzzling man. And I loved every minuet of it.

The Jimi Hendrix Experience- All Along The Watchtower

Jimi Hendrix’s version of All along the watchtower is one that reminds of being about 16-17, I was developing my musical identity and this particular track reminds me of summer days spend with friends, doing the stupid things that teenagers do.

The Blues Brothers- Everybody Needs Somebody To Love 

I owe the Blues Brothers so much, as a film it introduced me to worlds of music that I had no idea existed, it opened the way for my love of blues and soul music, and introduced me to the likes of Cab Calloway, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles, James Brown and John Lee Hooker. Trying to narrow the soundtrack of this film down to just one song was difficult, but I think this song exemplifies exactly what the Blues Brothers was all about.

Bruce Dickinson- Abduction 

Bruce Dickinson is best known as the lead singer of Iron Maiden, as well as being a champion fencer, author, BBC radio DJ, film maker,  commercial airline pilot and owner/CEO of Cardiff Aviation training school, how he has time for a solo career I have no idea, but I’m glad he finds the time, Abduction was the first song of Bruce’s Solo Stuff that I had ever come across.

The Caesars- Jerk It Out 

I can’t remember where or when I first listened to this song , but it features as a mainstay in my get pumped playlist, it never fails to put me in a good mood, and I do often associate it with working as a bartender, but to be honest its more likely to be played when I’m getting ready to go out.

Emilie Autumn -Fight Like A Girl

Emilie Autumn is one of those artists I discovered in my goth phase, back in the good old days of myspace, combining gothic themes, with a little bit of industrial grime and wrapping it all up in a delightful victorian burlesque show.

Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell- Ain’t No Mountain High Enough 

This is one of those feel good songs that always brings a smile to my face, it really is one of the best hits to ever come out of Mowtown.

Elvis Costello- I’ll Never Fall In Love Again 

This song is my break up song, listening to it does make me feel a little melancholy, but over the last few years I tend to just think more of the good times with past loves.

So I’m guessing that knowing what songs I would pick, not many people would want to get stuck on a desert island with me.

2 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs

  1. Only one book and 8 songs – wow that’s like having to chose between your children (luckily I only have one of those). I like your music choices, especially the Blues Brothers song. I loved the movie and all of the cameos and guest stars.

    Thanks for sharing on #FridayFrivolity. You are my featured post this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

