It Must Be Sunday

It must be Sunday, I’ve eaten too much and have no desire to do anything other than lie on the sofa and do nothing. This is all whilst knowing that its the dreaded Monday tomorrow. Monday, the day that if it had a face, would walk about with a constant black eye.

Knowing this still hasn’t inspired me into activity though, I did my ironing out of necessity, but other than that I really have just lazed about with a book listening to music. I can’t even blame it on a hangover, that would suggest that, at least for last night, my life might in some way be interesting. That however is not the case, after I bathed my daughter and put her to bed I listened to music on the sofa, whilst rereading a Terry Pratchett book (The Wee Free Men before you asked).

I must say that in many ways I miss having a life, but in other ways I really don’t, if I were out with friends I probably would have been in some crowded nightclub or sleazy bar, paying for overpriced, watered down beer while the ever increasing decibel level and ever decreasing personal space would have just had me longing for my bed. It’s not like the old days where I would go out get tiddlywinked, go home with whichever girls let me and then wake up fresh as a daisy the next day, and in many cases would go home, shower and change, and then go straight to work. These days if I stay out past 1 I live to regret it, I look like a zombie for the next 3 days, and feel like death would be a mercy for most of that time. I actually went out earlier in the week and got the last train home at 1 am. As you can guess the next day I looked like an 8 x 10 of Dorian Gray, I was shuffling around like an extra from a George A Romero film

Its reasons such as these that I am dreading the upcoming season of Christmas parties, I suppose it isn’t as bad as back in my free lance days, I totaled 21 Christmas parties that year, how I lived to tell the tale I don’t know. But it certainly has made me thankful for only having 3 to go to this year, you have no idea how happy this has made me.

Leave a Reply

