The Lazy Ramblings Of A Lazy Guy (On Getting On In The World)

The Man Down My Local (7).png

I was recently introduced to the Idle Thoughts Of An Idle Fellow by Jerome K Jerome. The book consists of 14 essays on 14 topics

  1. ON BEING IDLE.
  2. ON BEING IN LOVE.
  3. ON BEING IN THE BLUES.
  4. ON BEING HARD UP.
  5. ON VANITY AND VANITIES.
  6. ON GETTING ON IN THE WORLD.
  7. ON THE WEATHER.
  8. ON CATS AND DOGS.
  9. ON BEING SHY.
  10. ON BABIES.
  11. ON EATING AND DRINKING.
  12. ON FURNISHED APARTMENTS.
  13. ON DRESS AND DEPORTMENT.
  14. ON MEMORY.

Jerome K Jerome is pretty much me down to a tee. He’s lazy and just writes whatever comes to mind. He doesn’t care who he offends, and I often felt that he may have been somewhat high when he picked up the pen. But Mr Jerome has inspired me, so I am going to be writing a series of posts on the topics that Mr Jerome turned his hand at. (I know I’m ripping the guy off, but quite frankly I don’t care)

On Getting On In The World

The easiest of ways to get on in the world is to act as though you are already at the highest peak of human achievement. To act as though you own the world and deigning to look upon it is a blessing that you choose to bestow, a shining example of your benevolence. People are really a herd race and like cows or sheep tend to follow those who seem to know where they are going, why for centuries have people followed the aristocracy, because being told all your life that you are going to run the world generally serves to make you feel as though you could.

Act as though the rules don’t apply to you and people generally write you new ones to accommodate (note rules not laws), act with enough confidence and certainty and people will be sure to gravitate towards you, after all confidence is attractive, not just as a desirous trait in a potential mate, but also in terms of friendship.

confidence will get you far in life, confident people get jobs, get promoted and get laid. It is difficult to emulate confidence (especially without seeming arrogant) however I have found that often the most arrogant and insufferable excuses for men and women have often gone the furthest. The trick to seeming confident is to first become comfortable with yourself, which is no small task. To look at me currently I am fully aware of how amazing I am, its up to other people to keep me interested, if I go to a job interview I try to switch it around and go in with the mind set that my I’m not there to convince my interviewers to hire me, I’m there to convinced to take that job. The same goes for dates or social interactions, if people can’t keep me interested I’m going to move on. And that is how you get on in the world. Or at least in theory.

This is the sixth in series of posts ripping off the work of Mr Jerome K Jerome and his seminal piece The Idle Thoughts Of An Idle Man.

Leave a Reply

