The Lazy Ramblings Of A Lazy Man (On Dress & Deportment)

The Man Down My Local (15).png

I was recently introduced to the Idle Thoughts Of An Idle Fellow by Jerome K Jerome. The book consists of 14 essays on 14 topics

  1. ON BEING IDLE.
  2. ON BEING IN LOVE.
  3. ON BEING IN THE BLUES.
  4. ON BEING HARD UP.
  5. ON VANITY AND VANITIES.
  6. ON GETTING ON IN THE WORLD.
  7. ON THE WEATHER.
  8. ON CATS AND DOGS.
  9. ON BEING SHY.
  10. ON BABIES.
  11. ON EATING AND DRINKING.
  12. ON FURNISHED APARTMENTS.
  13. ON DRESS AND DEPORTMENT.
  14. ON MEMORY.

Jerome K Jerome is pretty much me down to a tee. He’s lazy and just writes whatever comes to mind. He doesn’t care who he offends, and I often felt that he may have been somewhat high when he picked up the pen. But Mr Jerome has inspired me, so I am going to be writing a series of posts on the topics that Mr Jerome turned his hand at. (I know I’m ripping the guy off, but quite frankly I don’t care).

On Dress and Deportment

No one dresses for occasions anymore. I was recently at a formal dinner, and there were men there, not even wearing ties, going completely open collar. This was next to me in my dinner suit. It made me think though, that formality is really being done away with in this day and age, and this something that I can’t stand.

In the 1920’s it would be inconceivable for a middle class gentleman to go to a dinner without being in black tie, at the least. and 20 years before that it would have been white tie and tails. But nowadays its commonplace to dine out, amongst company, in jeans and t-shirt, and in some cases even whilst wearing a baseball cap.

Men wearing hats in doors is one of those things that really annoys me, it shouldn’t, its the twenty first century, but it really annoys me, unless your a chef or work on a building site, hats should not be worn by men whilst indoors. It really does seem that these basic manners are being eroded away, no longer do men stand to greet a lady, and judging by recent shopping expeditions people no longer hold doors open. Over the last few years I’ve been accused of both flirting and being a sexist, purely because I’ve held a door open for a woman, and here I thought I was just being polite.

These are all little things, but as time moves on it does seem that society is getting both ruder and more uncouth. The cantankerous old man in me wants to blame the internet, as I see his point. People are becoming removed from each other socially, so the manners wear off, men and women can now send each other instantaneous messages ranging from the banal to the explicit, and because its not in person, the consequence of words is removed, thus courtesy disappears.

 

This is the thirteenth in a series of posts ripping off the work of Mr Jerome K Jerome and his seminal piece The Idle Thoughts Of An Idle Man.

Leave a Reply

