Wipeout, Silver Surfers Indeed.

I don’t know how many of you out there are active in community groups, but I am in one or two, and they a hot bed of old people. Now in one of those groups that I am active in, I am the groups secretary, and this basically means I’m in charge of taking minuets, organising meetings and emailing the members to let them know where, when, etc. But there’s the rub, anyone dealing with old people will know that many are not on email, because, and I quote, “[they] can’t wrap their head around this new fangled technology”.

This got me thinking though, email has actually been about in some form or another since the 1960’s. Web hosted mail, like AOL, Hotmail, Gmail etc, has been in use since the late 1990’s so the technology isn’t really new. So why can’t old people learn to F*%#ing use it?

I mean you don’t hear me saying that I can’t use an amazon echo because its new do you, I learn, surely retirement is a time to learn new things?

Leave a Reply

